The International Portuguese Music Awards organizers announced this year’s IPMA nominees for their seventh annual award show. IPMA will present their awards on May 18, at the majestic Zeiterion Theatre located in historic downtown New Bedford, Massachusetts. The event will include performances by various prominent artists including João Pedro Pais, Roberto Leal, Rita Guerra, and Sam the Kid.

Awards will be presented in thirteen different categories. This year’s nominees hail from seven different countries and three continents. In addition, two artists have been chosen as finalists in the “New Talent” category. They will compete by performing live at the awards show. The winner will be chosen by a panel of music professionals and announced during the event.

Performers at the 2018 International Portuguese Music Awards

Xutos 2018 IPMA

The 2019 nominees are as follows:

Music Video of the Year
“Guarded” by Tyler & Ryan, Directed by Mitch Francis (USA)
“Nôs Morna” by Cremilda Medina & Tito Paris, Directed by Marko Lokko Monkeys (FRANCE)
“Crazy Love Is” by Pedro Barbosa, Directed by Elrich Yssel (South Africa)
“Vai” by The Code, Directed by Line Up Productions (PORTUGAL)

“Ode to Joe” by Pedro Silva (USA)
“RICARDVS” by Ricardo J. Martins, Ricardo Gordo & Ricardo Silva (PORTUGAL)
“Quiero Ser Tu Sombra” by Daniel Binelli & Pedro H. da Silva (USA)
“Thunderstorm” by Mike Kerr (USA)

World Music
“Par Serment” by Dan Tibério (FRANCE)
“Nôs Morna” by Cremilda Medina & Tito Paris (CAPE VERDE)
“Tiki Taki” by Assol Garcia (USA)
“Nos Amizad” by Roy Job (USA)

“Ai Ai Vizinho” by Ronda Da Madrugada (PORTUGAL)
“Trago Nos Olhos a Ria” by Fátima Santos (USA)
“Talvez Por Isso” by Sarah Pacheco (USA)
“Verdes São os Campos” by Rodrigo Serrão (PORTUGAL)

“Divino Fado” by Clara Santos (CANADA)
“Quadras Soltas de Pessoa” by Cordeone (FRANCE)
“Tarde Demais” by Sandra Correia (PORTUGAL)
“Voz Magoada” by Sarah Pacheco (USA)

“Blame It” by Andre Aires (PORTUGAL)
“Energy” by Nelson Rego (USA)
“Dance With You” by Sabrina Alves (SOUTH AFRICA)
“Neon Heart” by Sir Matty V (USA)

“Nutso” by Nutso (USA)
“Quero Andar Contigo” by Andy Scotch (PORTUGAL)
“1991” by Jayjezz (LUXEMBOURG)
“Captain Sun” by My Mysterious Friend (CANADA)

“Change is Coming” by Josh Pereira (USA)
“Vai” by The Code (PORTUGAL)
“Pretend” by FirstBourne (USA)
“Don’t Ask Don’t Tell” by Social Hysteria (CANADA)

“Let Me Ask You” by Roy Job (USA)
“O Melhor Lugar” by A.M.A. – Amar Mais Agora (PORTUGAL)
“Amores Proibidos” by Sarah Pacheco (USA)
“Distraction” by Tyler & Ryan (USA)

Musica Popular

“Já te Esqueci” by Safira (PORTUGAL)
“Mas Sou Portugês” by Zé Duarte (USA)
“Cinderela” by Michelle Madeira (CANADA)
“Há Mulherada (Há Caipirinha)” by Joey Medeiros (USA)

New Talent
Peter Serrado (CANADA)

Song of the Year
“Xtoria D’bo Manera” by Roy Job (USA), written by Roy Job
“Par Serment” by Dan Tibério (FRANCE), written by Dan Tibério, Michel Handson
“Nutso” by Nutso (USA), written by Lafayette Azevedo
“Meu Amor Meu Amante” by Sarah Pacheco (USA), written by Sarah Pacheco, Minah Jardim

An additional category is the Azores Airlines People’s Choice Award. This is the only category voted on by the general public via online votes on our web site. The voting process is expected to begin this month. The public should stay tuned to the IPMA Facebook page for more information in the coming days.

For tickets visit

Following the 2019 IPMA Awards Show, a spectacular after-party will be held at Cotali Mar Restaurant. For more information regarding the 2019 IPMA events and to purchase tickets for the show and after-party, visit and like the official Facebook page for updates.

The official hashtag for the 2019 events is #2019IPMA .


About Author

Diane Fontes is a first-generation Luso-American with ties to Santa Maria, Azores. You can see snapshots of her travels on Instagram: @diane_fontes

Leave A Reply